The Minor Arcana

The Minor Arcana is made up of the 56 numbered cards and their accompanied face cards.  These cards are referred to as the “Minor Arcana” because they deal with the day to day issues and mysteries of life, rather than the higher spiritual ideals dealt with in the Major Arcana.  But the Minor Arcana is no less important than the Major.

The Minor Arcana is divided into 4 suits (much like modern day playing cards).  These suits are Wands (Rods), Cups, Swords, and Pentacles.  Their meanings follow below:

The Suit of Wands

id =